“Besides music, it was always writing that fascinated me. I wanted to find my own language, closely linked to the music and its flow, to express feelings in this way. If I had had the talent to draw, I probably would have tried it.
Writing means to me to tell a story from my soul much more creatively than I can reproduce in the language of the music that others have created.”

Martin Sieghart

about writing

Martin’s Books

New book “Women, Love, Life”

Martin is currently writing several stories about the fates of women.

“In my opinion, women are more interesting than men. Coming from all walks of life, they have the fundamentals and the fascinating in common.” MS


Martin Sieghart bridged the Covid-induced period of inactivity by writing a book “Transitions,” a Musician’s Experience in 50 Chapters.

Transitions from biographical tales to those inhabiting a fictional dream realm.
Inspired by a visit to a Grinzing “Heurigen,” where an exceptionally talented young man sang and played music, he invents a fledgling pianist from Transylvania who is forced by circumstance to relinquish his promising career and eventually comes to Vienna, where he succeeds in making a solid living by becoming a Heurigen musician performing in the various languages of his German/Hungarian/Romanian heritage before ultimately seeing a concert grand piano that was brought to his venue for a reception …

A TV sleuth, long weary of his profession, has to endure Mozart’s Requiem during a shoot of his series in the small country church of “Leidenstein.”

His initial total aversion towards this idea gradually becomes a deep and existential experience that ultimately leads to his redemption.

Memories of his life in 1960s Vienna, of playing the organ in Upper Austria, of his great mentor Josef Mertin, of his years as a member of the Vienna Symphony, his time as chief conductor in Stuttgart, Linz, and Arnhem, about wonderful and less wonderful encounters with great artists.

Of his opera festival at Reinsberg, of Strauss concert tours to Japan, and of benefit performances.

Of an evening drinking beer with Anton Bruckner and his Adagio from his 6th Symphony, of the Bohemian Forest, and much more.

Hollitzer published the book in the autumn of 2021.


“Transitions” opens up a treasure trove of musical knowledge and personal experience behind the scenes of rehearsal, concert, and orchestral life.

All culminates in the confession: “It is better to remain a seeker!

Karin Schütze